What got Shopify to release these payouts
Fifteen Shopify Payments holds in this record ended. Three of them ended by waiting. The other twelve ended after the merchant did more than wait — a second ticket, a second email thread, a public post, a public question session, a newspaper reporter, closing the store themselves — which is the one thing accounts answering for Shopify on these threads tell merchants not to bother doing. Every case below is dated and linked to the merchant’s own words.
We cannot tell you what will end your hold. Nobody can: these are fifteen individual accounts, not a procedure, and the 78 Shopify Payments entries in this record include many more that have not ended at all. What this page can do is show you exactly what happened in the ones that did, with dates, so you are not choosing between guesses.
The companion pages are the Shopify Payments file, every hold length Shopify has stated in public, what merchants report after the 120 days are up, and holds whose only exit is a verification step that does not work. For what the company goes on charging while a hold runs, see they are holding your payouts and still billing you.
1. The message, unchanged for eighteen months
One thread on Shopify’s own forum, opened on 25 July 2023, ran to 115 posts and was still collecting new arrivals in April 2025. Its first post quotes the notice the merchant received the day before their payout was due:
"Your payouts from Shopify Payments are on hold while we review your account. Contact Support for next steps on this standard review. This hold does not prevent your customers from checking out."1
On 2 January 2025 — eighteen months and roughly a hundred posts later — another merchant arrived on the same thread and pasted the same notice, word for word, along with the same question about how long it should take.2 Between the two of them the thread collected the same account dozens of times over, and the question merchants put to each other on it is always the same one: did you ever get paid, and how long did it take?
What the notice means was described on a separate thread in December 2022 by an account answering for Shopify: the hold "is put in place during the review process to help mitigate the chance of fraud or chargebacks to the payment gateway while the review is happening", every store goes through it, and "the review usually happens a few weeks after your first sale goes through".3 A merchant terminated in March 2023 put the same sequence less kindly, and their figure was $8,000: the hold arrived four days after their first order, checkout stayed open, and they write "Shopify only reviews accounts once you start making money."4
2. What Shopify tells you to do while your money is held
Four statements, all from accounts answering for Shopify on the forum, all pointing the same way. Read them before reading the table, because the table is what the merchants did instead.
- Stop following up. September 2023: "follow up on email thread without first hearing from our Internal Team has the ability to negatively affect your standing in the queue, meaning that you may experience a longer than expected turn-around time… My recommendation would be to cease following up on the email thread, and to cease additional support reachouts. This will cement your place in the queue."5
- Chat will not help. October 2023: "speaking to members of our Support Team via the Help Portal won’t speed up the turn around time on this ticket. These Advisors are not privy to situations being handled by our Internal Teams."6
- Do not open a second ticket. May 2024: "we wouldn’t recommend creating a new ticket as that does not help speed up the review process."7
- The target for a reply. March 2024: "we do strive to respond back within 3-5 business days, sometimes our support see a higher than average volume of requests and it can take longer than that."8
All four replies come from accounts that answer for the company in the first person — "our Internal Team", "our Support Team" — and that belong to the forum’s Shopify-staff group. Today every one of them displays the title Retired and none carries a staff badge on the post itself. We record them as what they are: statements made on Shopify’s behalf, on Shopify’s forum, at the dates given.
3. The fifteen that ended
| File | Amount stated | Started | How long | What the merchant says ended it |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HF-2026-0105 | Not stated | They say the payouts had been on hold "since June" 2022; first posted 17 July 2022 | About six weeks, on their own dating | Closed the shop themselves and moved to another platform, after being told the store was being closed over reseller documentation they did not have. They say the closure is what forced the pending transactions out. |
| HF-2026-0097 | $3,200 | November 2023; they say the store was terminated for an acceptable use policy violation about a week after the payout hold began, and on 17 March 2024 they counted the wait at 113 days | Day 137 by their own count | Waited out the 120 days they were told, and then seventeen more. No action of theirs is described as having ended it. |
| HF-2026-0119 | Not stated | They say notice arrived on 24 November 2023, the day before Black Friday, and that their last payout was 23 November 2023 | Eighteen days | Opened support chats several times a day for two days, on their account, until a senior advisor moved the case into a different queue; a member of the Trust and Safety team contacted them that evening and named the waiver they needed. Of the whole sequence they write: “I don’t know what worked.” |
| HF-2026-0121 | Not stated | They say the compliance review and the payout hold began on 2 December 2023 and that Shopify Payments was disabled on 4 December 2023 | About a week | Supplied the documents and waited. The gateway was disabled two days into the review anyway, and they say a payout that had been on hold was released at that point; the gateway and the payouts came back about a week later. No action of theirs is described as having ended it. |
| HF-2026-0122 | Not stated | They say an email from the risk management address on 14 December 2023 told them payouts were on hold because of branded products on the site | Four days, Thursday to Monday | Replied to the risk email with over a hundred supplier invoices, the submission link having accepted a maximum of five. They say the deposits arrived on schedule the following Monday. |
| HF-2026-0091 | Not stated | They say the payouts were put on hold without warning; by 4 January 2024 they date the hold at more than two weeks, which places its start in the second half of December 2023 | About three weeks | Posted on two threads with two ticket numbers after the three business days they were promised turned into twenty. |
| HF-2026-0125 | a very big amount on hold | They first posted about the hold on 6 March 2024, saying the amount locked was growing | Two hours from the reporter; they had first posted about the hold three months earlier | Got a Wall Street Journal reporter involved, after their own assigned representative, in their words, “said he couldn’t help me”. They say notification that the funds would be released arrived within two hours. |
| HF-2026-0098 | a couple thousand in sales | March 2024; they say they logged in on a Saturday to find the next payment field showing $0, and posted about it on 13 March 2024 | Two to three weeks; they stated both | Waited. They say the explanation, when it came, was that the bank account had to be verified — an account they say had already been verified. |
| HF-2026-0099 | Not stated | March 2024; the account went under review and payouts were held from 21 March 2024 | About two weeks | Opened a separate email thread to the review team marked urgent, rather than replying on the original one. They say more questions arrived the same day and payouts were restored the next business day. |
| HF-2026-0100 | £3,000 on hold | April 2024; they say the hold appeared without warning, their first post being on 2 April 2024, and that writing on 4 April their last payout had been "THURSDAY LAST WEEK" | About one week | Emailed legal@shopify.com on another merchant’s advice, after three live chats produced nothing. They say the company had been querying whether branded products on the site were genuine. |
| HF-2026-0103 | $5,000 | Around late June 2024; on 18 July 2024 they say they had been waiting three weeks for the payout | Three weeks | Messaged support twice a day every day, asked that a manager be made aware, kept everything on one ticket, and filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. They say the payout came after one advisor finally looked at the case: the bank details on file did not match theirs. |
| HF-2026-0112 | Not stated | They say the funds had been held since July 2024; posted 8 October 2024 | One day from the public post; the hold had run since July | Emailed the balance team directly, having already switched payment processor, and moved the remaining funds to an outside business account the next day. They do not say whether the reserve held since July was part of it. |
| HF-2026-0021 | Not stated | Not dated directly; they say on 26 April 2025 that the payout had been on hold for over 220 days, which places the start around September 2024 | Around a year, on their own account | Contacted support 30 to 40 times over the whole period, then, they say, one day an email simply arrived saying the money was being released. |
| HF-2026-0092 | Not stated | They say their payouts were deactivated in the system and that the fault was escalated in January 2026 | Twenty minutes, at the end of five months | Raised it in Shopify’s own public question session, after five months, six tickets and four or five promised follow-ups that never came. |
| HF-2026-0076 | $200,000 | They say payouts had been paused for 12 days when they posted on 29 July 2026, placing the start around 17 July 2026 | Twelve days | Posted the case publicly with the figure in the title. They say everything was resolved a few hours later; asked what had worked, they did not answer. |
15 releases out of 78 Shopify Payments entries. The rest are either still held on the merchant’s last dated word, or ended without the merchant ever saying so.
4. The releases with a date attached to what moved them
The clearest case of all is not in the table, because it was reported by a journalist rather than written by the merchant, and this record only files first-hand accounts. On 28 January 2025 Global News, a Canadian national broadcaster, ran a Consumer Matters segment on a pet shop in North Saanich, British Columbia, whose payout funds had been held for weeks while the company repeatedly asked it to verify a business it had already verified. The owners told the reporter: "We have re-uploaded the documents, we’ve emailed the documents, we’ve chatted multiple times to try and get help."
The programme then contacted Shopify on the couple’s behalf. The article records what happened next in two sentences: the next day the owners received confirmation that the account was verified, in good standing, and the funds would be paid; Shopify ignored the broadcaster’s request for comment. The amount released was $26,735.55.9
One merchant in this file describes the newsroom version first-hand. Filed above as HF-2026-0125, they had been posting about a growing held balance since March 2024 when, on 13 June 2024, another merchant asked whether being in contact with a Wall Street Journal reporter had worked. Their answer: “Yes, within 2 hours we received notification that the funds would be released.” They add that this happened to a store they describe as in the top ten per cent of the platform’s merchants, whose own assigned representative had already told them he could not help.11
Two more merchants on the forum describe the same shape without a newsroom. One, filed above as HF-2026-0103, was three weeks into a hold on more than $5,000 when they began messaging support twice a day, asking for a manager and filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau; the payout arrived, and the reason turned out to be bank details on file that did not match theirs. Another says they filed with the BBB after days of being promised an email that never came, and "guess who decides to contact me the same day? Shopify!" — though in that case the message announcing that payments were restored was, they wrote six days later, still not matched by any money.10
5. What this record will and will not tell you
It will not tell you that a second ticket, a public post or a complaint to a consumer body releases Shopify payouts. Fifteen cases are fifteen cases, several of them ended with no explanation at all, and the merchant who got the fastest result of all got it because Shopify happened to be running a public question session that afternoon.
Three things here are certain, and all three are worth doing today rather than in week three:
- Every stated length, and who stated it, is evidence. Six of the fifteen merchants above could name a date or a period they had been given. That is what makes a delay measurable instead of arguable, and it is collected for this company on how long the hold is meant to be.
- A regulator’s complaint obliges an answer where the support queue does not. In the United States, the CFPB route sets out which companies are in that database and which are not — Shopify’s payments arm is not, and that page says so plainly and gives what remains. In the United Kingdom, the Financial Ombudsman Service has published decisions on held funds; what gets corrected in them is narrow and specific: the time beyond the firm’s own stated period.
- If your money is released, say so. Thirteen of the fifteen files above exist only because the merchant came back to a thread — sometimes months later, often to answer a stranger asking "did you ever get paid?". Add your case to this record, and come back when it ends.
Sources
- okayjae, "Shopify Payments Payout On Hold", Shopify Community, 25 July 2023. community.shopify.com. All 115 posts on this thread were read in full and verified 20 September 2026. Not filed in the record: no amount, no period given, no closure date.
- hunnii, replying on the same thread, 2 January 2025, quoting the identical notice. community.shopify.com. Read in full and verified 20 September 2026.
- txbaron, "Your payouts from Shopify Payments are on hold while we review your account", Shopify Community, 21 December 2022, with the replies of 21 and 22 December 2022 from an account answering for Shopify; it belongs to the forum’s Shopify-staff group and today carries the title "Retired". community.shopify.com. All four posts read in full and verified 20 September 2026. The merchant is not filed in the record: they state no amount, no period and no closure date.
- MickeyAvery74, "Why was my account terminated even though I followed Shopify’s rules?", Shopify Community, 23 March 2023. community.shopify.com. Read in full and verified 20 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0096.
- An account answering for Shopify, replying to KafiFolk on "Shopify Payments Payout On Hold", 12 September 2023. community.shopify.com. Read in full and verified 20 September 2026.
- The same account, replying to Freeman3 on the same thread, 12 October 2023. community.shopify.com. Read in full and verified 20 September 2026. Freeman3, who says their shop had been on the platform more than ten years, that payouts had stopped for three weeks and that they had uploaded the requested document five times, is not filed in the record: they state no amount, no period and no closure date.
- An account answering for Shopify, replying to arturmryan on the same thread, 22 May 2024. community.shopify.com. Read in full and verified 20 September 2026.
- An account answering for Shopify, replying on the same thread, 17 March 2024. community.shopify.com. Read in full and verified 20 September 2026.
- Anne Drewa, "Small B.C. business voices frustration with Shopify after payout funds on hold", Global News, 28 January 2025. globalnews.ca. Read in full and verified 20 September 2026. The merchants are named in the report; the figure and the sequence are the broadcaster’s, not ours, and the case is not filed in this record because we have no first-hand statement from them.
- ThisIsReallySad, "DO NOT LEAVE MONEY IN SHOPIFY BALANCE", 13 February 2025 (community.shopify.com), and their later post of 19 February 2025 saying the restoration message was not matched by any money. Both read in full and verified 20 September 2026. That February 2025 episode is not filed as a case: it states no amount, no period given and no closure date. The same merchant’s earlier hold, in March 2024, is filed as HF-2026-0098.
- WorthHome, replying on "URGENT Help Needed! Shopify Payments Holding Payouts for Weeks!", Shopify Community, 6 March and 13 June 2024. community.shopify.com. All of this merchant’s posts on the thread were read in full and verified 22 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0125.
Every factual claim on this page is sourced below. Last verified against primary sources on 22 September 2026.