HeldFunds An independent record of withheld funds
Public record

How long will Shopify hold your payouts?

There is no single answer, and that is not a figure of speech. In public, Shopify staff have given at least seven different lengths for a payouts hold, from a two-to-five-business-day window to twenty-one days. This page lists every one we have found, with its source and its date, and then sets them against merchants who say what actually happened to them.

One of those numbers is worth reading twice. Asked in April 2026 why a new store had hit a 21-day hold on its first payout, an account carrying Shopify's staff flair replied: "We are constantly experimenting with ways to keep the Shopify Platform ecosystem safe and trusted. The 21 day experience you are referencing was one of those experiments."1

The general file on this company is the Shopify Payments file. Companion pages cover holds that begin at the payout bank account, holds whose only exit is a verification step that does not work, and what merchants report after the 120 days are up.

1. Every length Shopify has stated in public

Hold and review lengths stated by Shopify staff, or by Shopify support and quoted verbatim by the merchant who received them. Every row was read at its source; the source is in the last column.
Stated length What it was said to apply to Who said it When
2 to 5 business days5 For the payouts screen to refresh after a hold removal is requested An email signed "Katie, Risk Analyst | Shopify", pasted into the forum by the merchant who received it December 2022
1 to 2 weeks6 For the risk team to come back to a merchant whose payouts are under review An account answering for Shopify on the forum; it belongs to the forum’s Shopify-staff group and today carries the title "Retired" 18 September 2023
1 to 3 business days2 For an account review, "and our teams do try their very best to get back to our merchants within this timeline" An account answering for Shopify on the forum; same group, also titled "Retired" today 13 December 2023
3 business days7 For the payments team to send the merchant an email about the hold A support agent, quoted by the merchant they told it to December 2023
4 days8 For "highly sensitive changes like redirecting payouts to a new bank account" An account with the forum’s staff flair and the title "Staff", answering in Shopify’s official payouts session 14 April 2026
7 days, rolling3 Settlement speed for newer stores; "after a few weeks of consistent activity and reliable order fulfillment, the seven-day period is automatically reduced" The same staff account 14 April 2026
21 days1 A first payout at a new store — described by Shopify as an experiment The same staff account 14 April 2026

Seven lengths, three of them stated within the same two-hour session. None of them is published as a commitment.

2. The date in your admin is not a promise, and Shopify has said so

In February 2024 a merchant wrote that their Shopify Payments account had been deactivated, that they had been told in writing their outstanding payouts would reach their bank anyway, and that the payout date had arrived with the payout still marked pending. An account with Shopify's staff flair answered them with the sentence that governs every other number on this page:

"Transactions marked as Pending are for sales that you've made, but that haven't been sent to your bank account yet. The Payout Date for pending transactions is an estimate only."4

That is the honest description of the system, published by the company. It also means the figures in section 1 are estimates given by individuals, not terms — which is why the only thing worth recording is the gap between what a merchant was told and what they report happened.

Reserves are the one mechanism Shopify has described in full. In the same April 2026 session, the staff account wrote that a reserve is "a temporary hold on a portion, or sometimes the full amount, of transactions processed through Shopify Payments for a specified period", that reserved funds "cannot be accessed until the reserve period ends", and that at the end of it "any remaining reserved funds that are no longer needed are returned to you in full".9 A specified period, stated to the merchant. The accounts below are from merchants who say they were given one and it passed.

3. What merchants say happened against those numbers

Merchants in our record who can date the start of the hold, and in most cases name a length they were given for it. Each figure and date is that merchant's own published statement, read in full at the source.
File Amount stated When they say it started What they say they were told Status
HF-2026-0087 $13,000 They say all payouts were put on hold on 1 December 2023 No period was given to them. An account answering for Shopify in the thread (it belongs to the forum’s Shopify-staff group and today carries the title "Retired") said reviews generally take between one and three business days held
HF-2026-0088 $10,941.33 They say the payout has not been released since 24 April 2025 No period was given to them; they cite two open support tickets, #57121008 and #57425991 held
HF-2026-0089 $3,000 They say the payout account had been on hold for three weeks when they posted on 8 December 2022 An email they quote, signed by a Shopify risk analyst, says the hold was requested to be removed and that the payouts screen "should refresh in the next 2-5 business days"; a later email from the same person says the release had been asked of the banking partners "on Friday" held
HF-2026-0090 $1,330.02 They say a temporary new-account payout hold was placed on their first orders, which were paid on 3 and 4 July 2026 They were given 6 July 2026 as the expected lift date, and support quoted them estimated payouts "around July 10, 2026" and "around July 11, 2026" held
HF-2026-0091 Not stated They say the payouts were put on hold without warning; by 4 January 2024 they date the hold at more than two weeks, which places its start in the second half of December 2023 A support agent told them they would receive an email from the payments team in three business days released
HF-2026-0092 Not stated They say their payouts were deactivated in the system and that the fault was escalated in January 2026 No period was given to them; they say four or five support advisors promised a follow-up that never came, across six tickets, the most recent numbered 65574666 released

These 6 are drawn from the 42 Shopify Payments entries in the record. Read each one in full, with its source →

The clearest test of a stated date is a merchant who wrote one down. In July 2026 a new seller posted their situation as a table: account verified, bank account added, orders fulfilled with tracking uploaded, payout schedule daily on a seven-day rolling basis, and a temporary new-account payout hold with an expected lift date of 6 July 2026. The date passed. The payout date column stayed blank. The reply they received from support, which they pasted in full, ends the matter: the hold "is handled automatically by Shopify Payments, and we can't provide a more specific release time or additional estimate beyond what was already shared".10

A December 2022 case shows the same thing from the other end, in Shopify's own correspondence. A merchant of almost five years pasted their whole support thread into the forum. A risk analyst writes that the hold removal has been requested and the payouts screen "should refresh in the next 2-5 business days"; ten days later the merchant answers that the review message is still on the dashboard and the payout is almost $2,000, with a car payment due. The analyst writes that the banking partners placed the hold and that a release was asked for "on Friday". The merchant's last two messages read: "Its now been a week since you said the hold would be lifted, can you please let me know whats going on?" and "hello? I am still waiting on a response?"5

And in December 2023, a clothing label three years on the platform said all payouts stopped on 1 December without explanation, that they sent passport, business registration, driving licence and supplier invoices the same day, and that on 12 December the store could no longer accept new orders either. Their figure was about $13,000, needed for pre-orders their studio takes four to eight weeks to make by hand. Against the one-to-three-business-days review they were quoted, their last post, three weeks in, reads: "My businesses funds have been on hold for 21 days."2

One entry in the table was given no length at all, which is its own answer to the question in the title. A merchant says that on 24 April 2025 their store took 83 orders in one hour, which they believe was a platform fault, and that the payout has not been released since. Their figure is $10,941.33, their sales revenue excluding tax. Posting twice in June 2025, seven weeks in, they name their two open tickets and no date at all.12

4. Two that ended, and what ended them

This record exists to note releases as carefully as holds, so both of the endings we found this round are here — and neither of them was ended by waiting.

The first merchant was told by a support agent that the payments team would email within three business days. Twenty days later no email had come. They posted about it on two threads with two ticket numbers, and on 10 January 2024 wrote "Problem solved now". Asked two days later by another merchant how long it had taken, they answered: "About 3 weeks, i received an email saying that the review was completed and the payout was back to normal."7 Three weeks, against three business days.

The second is the sharpest fact on this page. On 14 April 2026 a merchant used Shopify's own public question session to report that their payouts had been deactivated in the system, that it had been escalated in January, and that across six tickets — the most recent numbered 65574666 — four or five advisors had promised a follow-up that never arrived. The staff account answered in the thread, suggested re-adding the bank account, and then asked them to check their admin. The merchant's next post, the same afternoon:

"Keith the payouts are now enabled. 5 months of waiting resolved 20 mins. THANK YOU"11

We take that at face value: it is their account of their own case, and it ended well. It is also the only route we have seen work quickly in three rounds of reading these threads, and it is not a route — it is a session that Shopify ran for two hours on one afternoon in April.

Merchants quoted above who are not in the table

Several reports read for this page state no amount, no period they were given and no closure date, and an entry goes into the record only when at least one of those is present. They are quoted here because we opened and read every post on each thread ourselves; they are not counted as cases. Among them: the merchant told in September 2023 that the risk team replies within one to two weeks, and the merchant told in July 2024 that their payout date was 15 July and who was still waiting on it afterwards.

5. If your payout is past the date you were given

  1. Write down the number you were given, who gave it, and when. A screenshot of the chat or the email is the whole of the evidence. Every merchant above who could state one has something measurable; the ones who cannot are left arguing about how long is too long.
  2. Ask for the length in writing, in the ticket. Ask whether the hold is a review or a reserve, and if it is a reserve, for the reserve period — Shopify's own description of a reserve says it runs for a specified period and that the remainder is returned in full at the end of it.
  3. Reply inside the existing ticket rather than opening new ones. An account answering for Shopify stated this directly in December 2023: reaching out each time by live chat "will create a new ticket ranking it lower in the queue".2
  4. Take it to a regulator if your country has one for this. In the United States, a CFPB complaint obliges many companies to answer in writing, though Shopify's payments arm is not in that database — that page sets out which door applies to whom. In the United Kingdom, the Financial Ombudsman Service has published decisions on held funds, and what gets corrected in them is narrow: the time beyond the firm's own stated period. This page exists because that period is the one thing worth pinning down.
  5. File it here. Add your case to the record with the date, the figure, the length you were given and a source. And if your money is released, come back and say so — two of the six entries above are releases, and both of them are only in this record because the merchant came back.

Sources

  1. Arcs, "21 day hold out on the payouts?", Shopify Community, 14 April 2026, with the reply of the same day from keithdell, an account carrying the forum's shopifystaff flair and the title "Staff". community.shopify.com. Both posts read in full and verified 19 September 2026. The merchant is not filed in the record: they state no amount and no closure date.
  2. abstractjulian, "Shopify payments account on hold cannot accept new orders", Shopify Community, 12 December 2023, including their posts of 13, 14 and 22 December 2023 and the replies from an account answering for Shopify. community.shopify.com · their earlier thread of 10 December 2023. All posts read in full and verified 19 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0087.
  3. FCLE, "Payouts", Shopify Community, 14 April 2026, with the replies of the same day from keithdell (shopifystaff flair, title "Staff"). community.shopify.com. All ten posts read in full and verified 19 September 2026. Not filed in the record: the merchant states no amount, no hold period and no closure date.
  4. Zox, "Payout still in ''pending'' state even though it is the payout date", Shopify Community, 5 February 2024, with the reply of the same day from Dirk, an account carrying the shopifystaff flair, and the later exchange with wi346 of 16 July 2024. community.shopify.com. All nine posts read in full and verified 19 September 2026. Neither merchant is filed in the record: neither states an amount.
  5. BecSals, "Why is my payout account still on hold after three weeks?", Shopify Community, 8 December 2022, including the support correspondence they pasted into the thread on 11 December 2022, signed "Katie, Risk Analyst | Shopify". community.shopify.com. All six posts read in full, and the merchant's public activity list read in full, verified 19 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0089.
  6. jpgfx559, "Shopify payments account on hold while we review", Shopify Community, 18 September 2023, with the replies of 18 and 19 September 2023 from an account answering for Shopify; it belongs to the forum's Shopify-staff group and today carries the title "Retired". community.shopify.com. All eight posts read in full and verified 19 September 2026. Not filed in the record: no amount, no closure date.
  7. Maggielee, "URGENT Help Needed! Shopify Payments Payouts On Hold Over 20 days!", Shopify Community, 8 January 2024, and their posts of 4, 10 and 12 January 2024 on a second thread. community.shopify.com · the post reporting the outcome. All posts read in full, and the merchant's public activity list read in full, verified 19 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0091.
  8. keithdell, replying on 14 April 2026 to dan24598, "Does Changing LLCs and banks trigger a ban/payment hold?", Shopify Community. community.shopify.com. Both posts read in full and verified 18 September 2026. This figure is set out at length on the bank account page.
  9. WingSpan, "What are reserves - how does it work with shopify payments?", Shopify Community, 14 April 2026, with the reply of the same day from keithdell (shopifystaff flair, title "Staff"). community.shopify.com. Both posts read in full and verified 19 September 2026.
  10. hassanayaz.dev, "New Account Payout Hold: Shopify Payments Verified, Orders Received, but Payout Status Still Pending with No Dates", Shopify Community, 7 July 2026, including the support reply they pasted on 8 July 2026. community.shopify.com. All five posts read in full and verified 19 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0090.
  11. Rhyval, "Payout Error Unresolved", Shopify Community, 14 April 2026, with the replies of the same day from keithdell (shopifystaff flair, title "Staff"). community.shopify.com. All seven posts read in full and verified 19 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0092.
  12. faizraees, "URGENT: Payout Still Missing Since April 24 Business Severely Impacted", Shopify Community, 10 June 2025, and their thread of 9 June 2025. community.shopify.com · the first of the two. Both read in full and verified 19 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0088.

Every factual claim on this page is sourced below. Last verified against primary sources on 19 September 2026.