The PayPal file
PayPal can place a hold on a balance while it reviews risk. Its own User Agreement says that hold is capped at 180 days — and also says the cap does not apply to holds arising from a court order or other legal process. Below are 39 accounts of a PayPal or Venmo hold, each drawn from a complaint filed with the U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) and published in its public database.
These are not blog posts or forum threads. Each is a narrative a complainant wrote directly to a federal regulator, which the CFPB then published with names, emails and most calendar dates redacted for privacy. They are the complainant's own account, not our findings, and not the regulator's finding either — the CFPB publishes complaints without judging them.
1. The record
| File | Amount stated | Filed with CFPB | Hold period quoted | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HF-2026-0007 Not stated in the complaint | $480 | 2026-09-10 | 180 days | PARTIAL |
| HF-2026-0008 Not stated precisely; the complainant describes a chargeback rate and dispute history | $1,200 | 2026-09-10 | 180 days ("a standard 180-day hold") | HELD |
| HF-2026-0009 Not stated in the complaint | $47 | 2026-09-10 | 180 days ("180-day extended hold") | HELD |
| HF-2026-0010 Personal account, private sale of a used camera | $2,800 | 2026-09-10 | Given inconsistently: PayPal quoted both 180 days and 120 days for the same hold | HELD |
| HF-2026-0022 Independent marketing consultant | $9,700 | 2026-09-12 | A number of days the complainant says PayPal quoted; the figure itself is redacted in the published narrative | HELD |
| HF-2026-0023 Private seller; a luxury watch sold through an online marketplace | $21,000 | 2026-09-12 | None given; the complainant describes the limitation on the account as permanent | HELD |
| HF-2026-0024 Service-based small business | $6,100 | 2026-09-12 | None. The complainant says PayPal gave no timeline for when the review would end or the funds would be released | HELD |
| HF-2026-0025 Independent construction contractor, paid for completed manual labour; the complaint was filed by the sender of the payment | $6,200 | 2026-09-13 | 21 days | HELD |
| HF-2026-0026 Online seller buying stock from suppliers | Not stated | 2026-09-13 | 21 days on sales above a $38,000 monthly threshold | HELD |
| HF-2026-0027 Personal account holder | $77 | 2026-09-13 | 180 days, with a scheduled release date the complainant says PayPal gave them | HELD |
| HF-2026-0028 Individual invoicing another PayPal user | $350 | 2026-09-13 | Up to 120 days | HELD |
| HF-2026-0029 Personal account holder | $500 | 2026-09-13 | None given | HELD |
| HF-2026-0030 Personal account holder | $170 | 2026-09-13 | None. The complainant says they asked PayPal to confirm what hold timeline, if any, applies | HELD |
| HF-2026-0031 Private individual selling a personal item | $960 | 2026-09-14 | 120 days | HELD |
| HF-2026-0033 Personal account holder | $10 | 2026-09-14 | A fixed number of days, redacted in the published narrative. The complainant says that period has already passed | HELD |
| HF-2026-0035 Personal assistant, paid monthly by her employer | $2,400 | 2026-09-14 | 120 days | HELD |
| HF-2026-0036 Personal account holder | Not stated | 2026-09-14 | First given as 120 days, then as 180 days | HELD |
| HF-2026-0038 Private individual selling an inherited collection | Not stated | 2026-09-14 | 21 days when first asked. Two specific release dates were later given by phone, and the account was afterwards permanently deactivated with a further hold date | HELD |
| HF-2026-0040 Personal account holder | $4,900 | 2026-09-15 | 180 days | HELD |
| HF-2026-0041 Personal account holder | $31 | 2026-09-15 | None given | HELD |
| HF-2026-0042 Personal account holder | Not stated | 2026-09-15 | None. PayPal is quoted as saying there were no holds, no restrictions and no active limitations on the account | HELD |
| HF-2026-0043 Personal account holder | $980 | 2026-09-15 | None given | HELD |
| HF-2026-0044 Personal account holder | Not stated | 2026-09-15 | 180 days, stated in a written notice | UNKNOWN |
| HF-2026-0045 Personal account holder receiving Social Security payments | $170 | 2026-09-15 | A fixed number of days, redacted in the published narrative | HELD |
| HF-2026-0046 Sports events organiser | $6,500 | 2026-09-15 | A number of months for $5,000, redacted in the published narrative, plus a rolling reserve of 20% of current and future sales held for a further redacted number of days | HELD |
| HF-2026-0047 Freelancer | $800 | 2026-09-15 | A fixed number of days, redacted in the published narrative | HELD |
| HF-2026-0048 Personal account holder | $25,300 | 2026-09-15 | None given | HELD |
| HF-2026-0049 Personal account holder | $64 | 2026-09-15 | 120 days | HELD |
| HF-2026-0050 Personal account holder | $99,000 | 2026-09-15 | At least 120 days | HELD |
| HF-2026-0051 Freelancer | $61 | 2026-09-15 | 180 days, after an initial statement that the funds would be released in 3 days | HELD |
| HF-2026-0052 Private individual selling a personal collection | $2,500 | 2026-09-15 | 180 days | HELD |
| HF-2026-0053 Personal account holder | $1,600 | 2026-09-15 | None given. The complainant says the account no longer shows an active limitation while the funds stay inaccessible | HELD |
| HF-2026-0054 Motorcycle parts business | $1,000 | 2026-09-15 | 120 days | HELD |
| HF-2026-0056 Business account receiving client payments | $45,000 | 2026-09-15 | None. The complainant says he was initially told the review would take about 5 days | HELD |
| HF-2026-0057 Small consumer goods business shipping orders direct | $13,000 | 2026-09-15 | None given; the complainant describes an open-ended manual review | HELD |
| HF-2026-0058 Private individual selling used camera equipment | $680 | 2026-09-15 | Until a stated date in 2026, redacted in the published narrative; the complainant describes it as months | HELD |
| HF-2026-0059 Private individual selling concert tickets | $5,000 | 2026-09-15 | None given; the complainant describes the hold as running about three weeks | HELD |
| HF-2026-0060 Personal account holder | Not stated | 2026-09-15 | 180 days, which the complainant cites as the limit in section 10.2 of PayPal's user agreement. He says a later agent told him there was "no established time frame" | HELD |
| HF-2026-0061 Personal account holder | $150 | 2026-09-15 | Up to 120 to 180 days | HELD |
33 of the 39 entries state a figure, and those figures add up to $258,730. That total is the sum of what 33 complainants said was held on the day they wrote to the CFPB, not an audited number and not an estimate of anything larger. The remaining entry states a rule rather than a balance: everything above $38,000 of sales in the month, withheld for 21 days. Read each entry in full, with its source →
2. What the reports have in common
Five entries quote the figure PayPal itself uses: a 180-day hold. Two of those five say the 180 days ran out and the balance still did not move. 13 One says PayPal's own Executive Escalations Team gave two different hold lengths for the same account — 180 days and 120 days — and could not explain either. 4
Three entries describe a hold with no end date the account holder could rely on. One says PayPal closed a new business account the same day its first $10,000 invoice was paid, quoted a hold period, and then — once that period had expired — could say neither why $9,700 was still frozen nor when it would move, having already deducted about $300 in fees from it. 6 One says a $21,000 balance from a completed marketplace watch sale, authenticated by the marketplace and undisputed by the buyer, sits under a limitation described as permanent. 7 One says $6,100 of a service business's money has been held through an open-ended document review in which each submission was answered with a request for more — including electronic contracts returned as "not legible" — with no list of what would finish it and no date. 8
Two entries describe a shorter number that PayPal applies before any account is closed at all: a 21-day hold on funds already received. One is a seller who says PayPal withholds for 21 days everything above $38,000 of sales in a month, so a better month means being unable to pay suppliers. 10 The other is a $6,200 payment for finished construction work, cleared by the sender's card issuer with no fraud flag, on which the complainant says PayPal's automated chat assistant stated in writing that there was "no hold on these funds from PayPal's side" and blamed the recipient's bank — while, they say, a 21-day restriction was running and PayPal's own executive complaints office was confirming by message that documents had been submitted and escalated. 9
Size is not what decides it. The smallest balance in this file is $77, left in a personal account after a permanent limitation; the complainant says they are not contesting the closure, only that a balance that size is being held for the full 180 days with no reason given and no answer on whether it can be released early. 11 A third number appears too: an individual who invoiced another PayPal user for exactly $350 says that after the invoice was paid and identity verification was submitted, PayPal told them it would permanently stop serving them and would withhold the money for up to 120 days. 12 Two more say a balance was locked with no period quoted at all — $500 and $170 — each after support gave them, in their words, no specific reason; one describes a chat that ended itself for inactivity moments after the agent said the case had been "escalated to the back office team". 1314
In the clearest case, a complainant says PayPal released $24 of a $500 balance partway through the hold, then had its Executive Office confirm in writing a specific date the remaining $480 would be paid once the 180 days ended — and that after that date passed, the $480 was still not released, with PayPal saying only that it would "follow up internally." 1
The CFPB database does not work like a forum: a complaint is a one-time narrative, not a thread that gets replies. None of these 39 have a documented resolution. That is why none of them are recorded as released — a complaint that stops being updated is not the same as a case that ended badly, and this record does not fill that gap with a guess.
One more thing is visible in the same database and worth naming without turning it into a case: on three days in March 2026, the CFPB published more than a dozen PayPal complaints that open with identical boilerplate — "PayPal unfairly blocked withdrawal of my funds after 180-day hold" — down to the section numbering. That pattern points to a shared complaint template being filed by multiple people in a short window, not to a dozen independent cases; none of them carried enough individual detail to meet this record's own bar, so none are filed here. The pattern itself is real and checkable in the same public database.
It has happened again since. Across 25 and 26 June 2026 the database carries at least a dozen further complaints, filed without a state attached, whose text is word-for-word identical: that PayPal "deducted my entire account balance" as "liquidated damages" for an unspecified breach of its Acceptable Use Policy. None of them states an amount or a date, so none is filed here either. Both clusters are worth knowing about for the same reason: a public complaint database can be filled with copies, and a record built out of it has to be able to tell a copy from a case.
3. What the agreement says
The complaints above are one person's word each, filed with a regulator rather than posted in public, but still one-sided. The contract is not. The PayPal User Agreement, live section "Holds, Limitations, and Reserves," states an actual ceiling that Stripe's agreement does not: 5
"Holding the balance in your Balance Account, the balance in your business account, or any money waiting to be claimed through your personal account ... for up to 180 days if reasonably needed to protect against the risk of liability or if you have violated our Acceptable Use Policy."
"The hold may remain in place longer than 180 days according to Court Orders, Regulatory Requirements, or Other Legal Processes."
Read the two together: PayPal's own agreement does commit to a 180-day ceiling on a risk-based hold, which is more than Stripe's General Terms commit to. But the very next sentence carves out any hold tied to a court order, a regulatory requirement, or "other legal process" — undefined further — with no ceiling stated at all. None of the complainants above say they were told their hold fell under that exception. If yours has run past 180 days, the one question worth putting to PayPal in writing is which of the two clauses your hold is under, and asking them to say so on the record.
4. If your account has just been held
This site is a record, not a law firm, and the honest answer is that nobody can promise you a way to make a payment processor pay out faster. Two things are worth doing on the day it happens, because both get harder later:
- Get the hold cited to a specific clause, in writing. Ask PayPal, in a written channel, whether your hold is the 180-day risk hold or the uncapped legal-process hold, and to name the court order or legal requirement if it is the latter. The agreement makes that a real, answerable question.
- If it is a Venmo balance, read the FTC order first. A 2018 Commission order requires PayPal to say, at the point it tells a Venmo user funds are available, that the transaction is still subject to review and can be frozen or reversed. What that order does and does not require — it runs until 2038, and it does not cover ordinary PayPal accounts.
- File with the CFPB, not only with PayPal. The complaints in this file were all submitted through consumerfinance.gov/complaint, which is free, takes the complaint out of PayPal's own support queue, and becomes part of a federal record that researchers and reporters can query. How to file it, and what happens to it afterwards. If your account is in the UK, the route and the deadlines are different: complaining about a held balance in the UK.
Then file the case here too. A regulator's database is not searchable by company and outcome the way this record is; putting your case in both places makes it count twice, in two different ways.
5. If you are choosing a provider
This file makes no recommendation and nobody has paid for a mention on it. Compare it with the Stripe file and the Paddle file, which document different companies under different models. The useful question is the same for all three, and is best asked in writing before you integrate: if you hold my balance, under which clause, for how long, and what is the written process for release at the end of it?
Sources
Each CFPB link below opens the same public search we ran. As of 16 September 2026 that search returns only the complaint's metadata — product, issue, state, company response — and no longer returns the complainant's own account to us. Every quotation on this page was read in full at that link on the verification date given with it, and the archived copies linked alongside still show the text.
- U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Consumer Complaint Database, complaint #19342320 against Paypal Holdings, Inc, filed 8 February 2026. Calendar dates in the narrative are redacted by the CFPB before publication; the filing date is the only date available. live query · archived copy. Read in full and verified 10 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0007.
- U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Consumer Complaint Database, complaint #23850135 against Paypal Holdings, Inc, filed 3 July 2026. live query · archived copy. Read in full and verified 10 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0008.
- U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Consumer Complaint Database, complaint #16862516 against Paypal Holdings, Inc, filed 28 October 2025. live query · archived copy. Read in full and verified 10 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0009.
- U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Consumer Complaint Database, complaint #23266376 against Paypal Holdings, Inc, filed 16 June 2026. live query · archived copy. Read in full and verified 10 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0010.
- PayPal User Agreement, section "Holds, Limitations, and Reserves" and "PayPal's Rights," published by PayPal, retrieved 10 September 2026. paypal.com/us/legalhub/useragreement-full. Quotations are from the "holds-limitations" section as published on that date; PayPal updates this page without a version number, so the wording is dated to the retrieval date rather than to a revision number.
- U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Consumer Complaint Database, complaint #23813507 against Paypal Holdings, Inc, filed 2 July 2026. live query · archived copy. Read in full and verified 12 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0022.
- U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Consumer Complaint Database, complaint #23517593 against Paypal Holdings, Inc, filed 24 June 2026. live query · archived copy. Read in full and verified 12 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0023.
- U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Consumer Complaint Database, complaint #23028092 against Paypal Holdings, Inc, filed 9 June 2026. live query · archived copy. Read in full and verified 12 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0024.
- U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Consumer Complaint Database, complaint #22964222 against Paypal Holdings, Inc, filed 6 June 2026. live query · archived copy. Read in full and verified 13 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0025.
- U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Consumer Complaint Database, complaint #23696687 against Paypal Holdings, Inc, filed 30 June 2026. live query · archived copy. Read in full and verified 13 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0026.
- U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Consumer Complaint Database, complaint #23647344 against Paypal Holdings, Inc, filed 28 June 2026. live query · archived copy. Read in full and verified 13 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0027.
- U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Consumer Complaint Database, complaint #22838990 against Paypal Holdings, Inc, filed 3 June 2026. live query · archived copy. Read in full and verified 13 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0028.
- U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Consumer Complaint Database, complaint #22790616 against Paypal Holdings, Inc, filed 2 June 2026. live query · archived copy. Read in full and verified 13 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0029.
- U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Consumer Complaint Database, complaint #22803524 against Paypal Holdings, Inc, filed 2 June 2026. live query · archived copy. Read in full and verified 13 September 2026. Filed here as HF-2026-0030.
Every factual claim on this page is sourced below. Last verified against primary sources on 16 September 2026.