HeldFunds An independent record of withheld funds
Public record

The Lemon Squeezy file

Lemon Squeezy is a merchant of record for software and digital products: the seller hands it the checkout, it becomes the legal seller, and it pays the seller later. Its own help pages say payouts follow a fixed twice-monthly schedule. They do not say what happens to a seller's balance when the store is suspended.2

Below are 7 seller accounts of that situation, each taken from a public Trustpilot review, and what Lemon Squeezy's published terms say about delaying a payout. The accounts are the sellers' own words, not our findings.8

For sellers, in short Terms read 25 October 2026
What the terms let Lemon Squeezy do
The terms at lemonsqueezy.com/terms, which open as a SaaS Service Agreement with Sold through Link, LLC (formerly Lemon Squeezy LLC), say it "has the right to delay payouts for risk assessment, suspend accounts, and refund payouts without warning if there is evidence of fraud" (clause 7.1.5).1
How long a delay can last
The terms name no number of days for a payout delay. They give 15 days to cure a breach (5 business days for confidentiality or payment breaches), and allow immediate suspension "if Lemon Squeezy reasonably determines that Customer is conducting an illegal business" or is instructed to by a regulator (clause 11.3). They add that if the reason for a suspension is resolved, Lemon Squeezy "agrees to promptly restore access".1 Neither passage says when a suspended seller's balance is paid.
What the payout page says
Payouts are created on the 1st and 15th, net sales are held 13 days, and payouts become available on the 14th and 28th, with a $50 minimum. The page does not mention suspended accounts.2
Chargebacks
Lemon Squeezy says it usually refunds a disputed sale on the seller's behalf and deducts the refund plus a $15 dispute fee from the next payout, and that "if your store has too many chargebacks, our team may intervene and suspend your account". It says it may refund customers within 60 days of purchase to prevent chargebacks.3
What sellers report
7 Lemon Squeezy cases on this site meet the verification standard: 7 were unpaid when the seller last wrote and 0 say the money was released. 3 state a figure, adding up to $8,421.61 in what sellers said they were owed on the day they wrote. Each is the seller's own account and the people who post reviews are not a sample of all sellers. The record below.

1. The record

Seller accounts suspended or unpaid at Lemon Squeezy, as reported by the seller
File Amount stated Held since Hold period quoted Status
HF-2026-1556
Online store with Lemon Squeezy as merchant of record, as they state
$421.61 26 March 2026, when the reviewer says their Stripe account went into Restricted status None; the reviewer says Lemon Squeezy never told them HELD
HF-2026-1557
Seller with 4 active paying clients, as they state
Not stated Not dated; the review gives 31 January 2026 as the date of experience and says no payout was ever made None; support said the balance was negative and refused to pay HELD
HF-2026-1558
Not stated
$2,000 The review gives 7 November 2024 as the date of experience; the text, posted 7 December 2024, says "It's been 2 weeks" None; the reviewer says nobody answered HELD
HF-2026-1559
Seller of their own products, as they state
$6,000 December 2023 or earlier; the review is dated 20 December 2023 None given HELD
HF-2026-1560
Not stated
Not stated 26 December 2023: the reviewer says the account "became inaccessible" that morning None; support said it was the partner and it could do nothing HELD
HF-2026-1561
Seller of a digital product delivered by email link, as they state
Not stated September 2024, after a chargeback; the review is dated 17 September 2024 A month; the reviewer says the funds were held until 18 October HELD
HF-2026-1562
Seller of digital products, as they state
Not stated June 2022, before the first payout First payout moved from 17 June to 24 June, then to 14 July 2022 HELD

Amounts are in the currency the seller wrote, taken as dollars only where they wrote dollars; one review gives "More than 20k" with no currency and is listed as not stated. Read each entry in full, with its source →

2. What the reports have in common

Two things repeat. In three of the 7, the seller describes a payout that failed or moved with little or no explanation: an account "inaccessible" with more than 20k unpaid and support saying "it's our partner. We can't do anything" (HF-2026-1560), a first payout moved from 17 June to 24 June to 14 July with $0.00 showing (HF-2026-1562), and four payout cycles that failed "silently" before the seller found out (HF-2026-1556). A fourth describes a store frozen after a chargeback, with the funds held "until Oct 18th" (HF-2026-1561).

The other repeat is the reply. In HF-2026-1557 support called the balance negative and the seller, who gives one partial refund of $171.00 against $244.90 of revenue, disputes that. In HF-2026-1559 the seller says their chat account was blocked after they wrote about the case. On the one review where Lemon Squeezy answered in public (HF-2026-1562, 24 March 2023), the reply says it pays thousands of merchants and gives a support address; it does not say whether that payout was made.

None of the 7 was updated by its author after the first post, apart from the sentence in HF-2026-1556 that it will be updated if resolved. So all are recorded as unpaid because that is the last word on the page, not because anyone has confirmed they were never paid. If you were paid, tell us and the entry will be changed to released.

3. Reddit posts read and not counted

Two r/SaaS threads about suspended Lemon Squeezy stores were read in a browser on 25 October 2026 and left out of the count, because neither gives an amount or a period.4

Both are the posters' accounts. We have not seen the emails.

4. Lemon Squeezy, Stripe and Paddle side by side

Lemon Squeezy's blog lists a post titled "Stripe acquires Lemon Squeezy", dated 26 July 2024.5 The table sets what each company's own published document says about a balance after closure against how many cases this record holds.

What the published terms say about the balance, and the cases on file
Company What its published document says Stated length Cases on this site
Paddle May retain amounts it considers necessary; must release "on or before the later of (a) six months from the date of termination, or (b) the expiry of the last Product subscription" (MSA 17.2, 17.4, updated 6 October 2026).6 Six months or longer 34
Stripe Unacceptable Risk Policy: payouts typically paused 120 days from the first email, then a formal review that can end in release, further holding or cancelling the payout. The General Terms set no ceiling on a reserve.7 120 days, then review 520
Lemon Squeezy May "delay payouts for risk assessment, suspend accounts" (clause 7.1.5); no period stated.1 None stated 7

The last column is how much public record this site has collected, mostly from Better Business Bureau complaints for Stripe and from Trustpilot for Paddle and Lemon Squeezy. It is not a rate of suspensions per seller and cannot be used to rank the three.

5. If your store has just been suspended

  1. Export what you can while the dashboard opens. Orders, customers, subscriptions, payout history and the suspension email. Whatever route you take later depends on documents you can no longer download once access is revoked.
  2. Ask in writing, and keep the reply. Which policy or signal triggered the suspension, whether the pending payout and the active subscriptions are affected, and by what date the balance will be paid or refused. Terms that name no period are the reason to ask for one.
  3. Check the payout screen each cycle. The docs say the status of the next payout is shown under Settings » Payout; one seller above found out that four payouts had failed only when the fourth did.

Then file the case here. A balance that exists only in your inbox is invisible; the same balance in a record with a date, a figure and a source can be counted.

6. If you are choosing a provider

This file makes no recommendation and nobody has paid for a mention on it. Read it with the Paddle file, the Stripe file and the full incident record. The question worth putting to any merchant-of-record provider before you integrate, in writing: if you close my account, how long is the balance held, what extends that, and what is the written process for getting the money at the end of it?

Sources

  1. Lemon Squeezy, Terms (a SaaS Service Agreement with Sold through Link, LLC f/k/a Lemon Squeezy LLC; the page shows no revision date), clauses 7.1.5, 11.3 and 11.4. lemonsqueezy.com/terms. Read in full on 25 October 2026. The statement that no period is named is scoped to that page on that date.
  2. Lemon Squeezy Docs, "Getting paid", sections on schedule, threshold and payout methods. docs.lemonsqueezy.com. Read in full on 25 October 2026.
  3. Lemon Squeezy Docs, "Refunds & Chargebacks". docs.lemonsqueezy.com. Read in full on 25 October 2026.
  4. r/SaaS on Reddit, threads of 27 August 2026 (1w08pbc) and 9 August 2026 (1vjmc9m), read in a browser on 25 October 2026 with the posting dates taken from the page. Reddit answers the web archive with a bot-check page, so no archived copies could be made.
  5. Lemon Squeezy blog, "Lemon Drops" listing including "Stripe acquires Lemon Squeezy", 26 July 2024. lemonsqueezy.com/blog. Read on 25 October 2026; only the listing, not the linked post, was read.
  6. Paddle, Master Services Agreement, "Last updated: 6 October 2026", clauses 17.2 and 17.4, paddle.com/legal/terms. Read on 19 October 2026; see the Paddle file.
  7. Stripe, Unacceptable Risk Policy, "Last updated: July 29, 2026", read on 21 October 2026, stripe.com/legal/unacceptable-risk-policy; Stripe Services Agreement — General Terms, last modified 18 November 2025, stripe.com/legal/ssa; see the Stripe file.
  8. Trustpilot reviews of lemonsqueezy.com, one per entry, each read in a web browser on 12 October 2026 and linked from its entry on the incident record (HF-2026-1556 to HF-2026-1562). The web archive could not save Trustpilot pages that day.

Every factual claim on this page is sourced below. Last verified against primary sources on 25 October 2026.