HeldFunds An independent record of withheld funds

A PADDLE.NET* charge on your statement: which app it is

PADDLE.NET* means a software company billed you through Paddle. The short name after the asterisk is that company, cut to 10 characters: a charge reads PADDLE.NET* COMPANYNAM. If you paid with PayPal it always reads PAYPAL *PADDLE.NET.3 (If the name after PAYPAL * is not Paddle, see the PayPal page.) To find out which app it is and cancel it, go to paddle.net.1

If the line starts with SQ * or reads GOSQ.COM instead, it is not Paddle: that is a card payment taken through Square. For other names, see the table of unfamiliar charges.

The short answer

Paddle is a billing company. It says it handles payments for "6,000+ software companies".1 When you buy a subscription from one of them, Paddle takes the payment and becomes the legal seller. That is why the name on your statement is not the name of the app you signed up for. The charge is almost always a real subscription to a real product. The problem is that the statement barely tells you which one.

What it looks like on a real statement

The software company picks the name after the asterisk, 2 to 10 characters. If it picks nothing, Paddle uses the first 10 characters of the company’s name.3 So the name is often cut mid-word or is not the name of the app you know. These lines come from the software companies’ own help pages and from card statements that public bodies have published:

PADDLE.NET statement lines and the product behind each
What the statement said What it was Source
PADDLE.NET * ALFRED Alfred Powerpack licence Alfred’s help page7
PADDLE.NET* CLASSMARKR ClassMarker online testing ClassMarker’s blog8
PADDLE.NET* CHATBOT-APP Chatbot App Chatbot App’s help centre9
Paddle.Net* Elfsight Elfsight Clay County, Missouri, card report11
PADDLE.NET* LACRM Not stated. A monthly $15.00 charge Horseshoe Bay, Texas, paid-invoice report12
PADDLE.NET PIKTOCHART Piktochart, an infographic and slide maker. $42.79 and $43.59 in August 2022 South Carolina state card report15; Piktochart’s help page16
PADDLE.NET REMOVE.BG remove.bg, a photo background remover. $49.00 and $199.00 in August 2022 South Carolina state card report15; remove.bg’s help page17
PADDLE.NET TEXTXPANDR TextExpander, a typing shortcut app. $215.91 in August 2022 South Carolina state card report15; TextExpander’s billing page18
PADDLE.NET LIT N LAT Not stated. The letters fit Literature & Latte, maker of the Scrivener writing app, which says Paddle processes its direct orders. $41.65 in August 2022 South Carolina state card report15; Literature & Latte’s privacy page19

Some apps do not tell you the exact line at all. Setapp only says that "Paddle.net is Setapp's official billing partner".10 If you use Setapp, start there.

remove.bg says its own charges read PADDLE.NET*REMOVE.BG, that it offers no trials that turn into a higher-priced subscription, and that lookalike sites do: it names a $1 trial for 5 days that becomes a $49 subscription.17 If you paid a background-removal site and the line does not read PADDLE.NET*REMOVE.BG, the charge is not from remove.bg. Contact the site you paid, and dispute it with your bank if it does not refund you.

Some names after the asterisk are web addresses. Type one into your browser to see whose it is. RSME.CC is one: when we opened rsme.cc on 27 September 2026, it forwarded to Resume.io’s billing page.13 Resume.io is an online résumé builder. Its help centre says its 7-day trial turns into a subscription "billed every 4 weeks" unless you cancel within the 7 days.14 Its billing page now names Adyen, not Paddle, as its payment provider, and has a "Cancel Subscription" link.13 Cancel there first, then ask for a refund on paddle.net for any charge that reads PADDLE.NET.

How to find the app and cancel the subscription

  1. Search your email for the receipt Paddle’s receipt emails are titled "Your receipt from" and then the software company’s name, not Paddle’s.5 So search your inbox, including spam and promotions, for Your receipt from, for Paddle, and for the amount, such as 9.99. Search every address you use. Free trials are often signed up for with a secondary or work address.
  2. If that finds nothing, look it up on paddle.net Go to paddle.net and choose "Look up my purchase". Paddle says it asks for "your email or transaction details".1 When we checked on 25 September 2026, the lookup by transaction asked for the amount paid, the payment date, the payment method and the last 4 digits of the card. Copy the date and amount exactly as they are on your statement.
  3. Cancel it Paddle’s refund policy gives two ways: open the "Manage subscription" link in your confirmation email and choose "Cancel subscription", or ask for cancellation on paddle.net.4 Cancelling stops future payments "at the end of the applicable billing period". It does not refund the charge you already have.4 Check your next statement to confirm it stopped.
  4. Ask for a refund On paddle.net, choose "Request refund", or use the support link in your receipt.4 Ask in writing and keep the reply. See below for when Paddle says you are entitled to one.
  5. If you cannot identify it, or it will not stop, go to your bank Contact your card issuer and say you want to dispute the charge. Bring the statement line exactly as printed, every date and amount, and what you already tried. Ask what its deadline is for disputes. It depends on your bank, the card network and the reason, and missing it can end your options. Paddle’s own policy says it "does not affect your lawful rights to dispute a charge".4

Can I get my money back?

Paddle’s refund policy starts from "all Transactions are non-refundable", unless the law says otherwise. After that:4

Paddle says approved refunds go back to the same payment method "within 14 days of approval of the request".4 Paddle tells software companies that card refunds typically take 3 to 5 working days to reach your account after that, and PayPal refunds about 48 hours.6 Paddle also says that in some cases it follows the refund policy of the software company whose product you bought.1

I cancelled. Why is Paddle still charging me?

Paddle’s answer is that "you may have more than one subscription" billed by Paddle, or you bought something from it without realising.1 Each app has its own subscription. Look up every email address you use on paddle.net, and cancel each one you find.

Is paddle.net legit?

Yes, Paddle is a real company, and paddle.net is its own support site. Paddle.com Market Limited is the UK company; Paddle.com, Inc. is its US subsidiary.2 A PADDLE.NET charge is usually a free trial that turned into a paid subscription, a yearly renewal you forgot, or a subscription someone else in your household started on a shared card.

But there is a documented pattern underneath it that is worth knowing about, because it is why this page exists. In June 2025 the US Federal Trade Commission announced that Paddle would pay $5 million to settle allegations that it had, among other things, charged consumers for automatically renewing subscriptions without clearly disclosing the recurring charge, and had given overseas tech-support scams access to the US card system by opening merchant accounts in its own name. 2 Paddle is permanently banned from processing payments for tech-support telemarketers as part of that settlement.

So if your instinct on seeing the charge was that something about this is not clean, that instinct has a paper trail behind it. The settlement is documented here. If you are sure nobody you know signed up for anything, treat the charge as unauthorized and call your bank.

Why you could not identify the charge in the first place

This is structural, not an accident. In the merchant-of-record model, the billing company becomes the legal seller of the software. The upside for the software company is that Paddle handles sales tax in every country. The downside lands entirely on you: the entity on your statement is a company you have never had a relationship with, selling you a product it did not make, and the only route back to the thing you actually bought runs through that company’s support system.

Paddle is not the only company that works this way. LEMSQZY* is Lemon Squeezy, FS * or FSPRG is FastSpring, PAYPRO is PayPro Global, 2CO.COM is 2Checkout, CBI* is Cleverbridge, and for games, XSOLLA is Xsolla. If you are a software founder deciding whether to bill your customers this way, the file on Paddle covers what happens on the other side of the arrangement, including what happens to your money if they close your account.

Sources

  1. Paddle, "Why do I have a charge from Paddle? Is Paddle legit?", paddle.com/about/why-has-paddle-charged-me. Verified 25 September 2026. The options on paddle.net and the fields of its purchase lookup were checked by us in a browser on the same day.
  2. US Federal Trade Commission, "Paddle Will Pay $5 Million to Settle FTC Allegations of Unfair Payment-Processing Practices and Facilitation of Deceptive Tech-Support Schemes", press release, 16 June 2025. ftc.gov. Retrieved 21 September 2026.
  3. Paddle Help Center, "What will customers see on their statement?". paddle.com/help. Written for software companies. Verified 25 September 2026.
  4. Paddle, "Refund Policy". paddle.com/legal/refund-policy. Sections 1.1, 2, 3 and 6.4. Verified 25 September 2026.
  5. Paddle Help Center, "Which emails will customers receive on Paddle Billing?". paddle.com/help. Verified 25 September 2026.
  6. Paddle Help Center, "How do I issue refunds?". paddle.com/help. Written for software companies. Verified 25 September 2026.
  7. Alfred Help and Support, "What is the PADDLE.NET * ALFRED charge on my card?". alfredapp.com. Verified 25 September 2026.
  8. ClassMarker, "What Is the "PADDLE.NET* - CLASSMARKR" Charge on Your Bank Statement?". classmarker.com. Verified 25 September 2026.
  9. Chatbot App Help Center, "How to recognize a charge on your bank statement?". help.chatbotapp.ai. Verified 25 September 2026.
  10. Setapp Support, "About Paddle charges in Setapp". support.setapp.com. Verified 25 September 2026.
  11. Clay County, Missouri, purchasing card report, 2023. claycountymo.gov (PDF). Verified 25 September 2026.
  12. City of Horseshoe Bay, Texas, paid invoice report. horseshoe-bay-tx.gov (PDF). Verified 25 September 2026.
  13. Resume.io, "What is Resume.io?" billing page. resume.io/billing. We opened rsme.cc on 27 September 2026; it redirected to resume.io/billing. Verified 27 September 2026.
  14. Resume.io FAQ, "How does billing work?". help.resume.io. Section "7-day trial". Verified 27 September 2026.
  15. South Carolina Comptroller General, State Government Credit Card Usage Report, August 2022. cg.sc.gov (PDF). The report prints vendor names without the asterisk. Verified 5 October 2026.
  16. Piktochart Knowledge Base, "Paddle, Merchant of Record (MOR)": statements show "PADDLE.NET * PIKTOCHART". support.piktochart.com. Verified 5 October 2026.
  17. remove.bg Help Center, "Avoiding Fraudulent Websites Impersonating remove.bg". remove.bg/help. Verified 5 October 2026.
  18. TextExpander, "The TextExpander eCommerce and Billing Provider": "You will see charges from Paddle on your credit/debit card or PayPal purchases on behalf of TextExpander." textexpander.com. Verified 5 October 2026.
  19. Literature & Latte, "Privacy", section "Billing Information". literatureandlatte.com/privacy. Verified 5 October 2026.

Every factual claim on this page is sourced below. Last verified against primary sources on 5 October 2026.